• Crazy
  • Cool
  • Awesome
  • Angry
  • Happy
  • Hungry
  • Sad
  • Shy
  • Tired
  • User Tag List

    Likes Likes:  0
    Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 23

    Thread: Protect Goner Ships

    1. #1
      Administrator 2Blackhawk's Avatar
      Credits
      2,949.50
      Points
      16,023
      is absent
       
      I am:
      Tired
       
      Total Contributions For

      2Blackhawk Points for Thread Ratings Given      £ 0.00
      Main InfoStatus and ThingsPoints and CreditsOther
      Join Date
      11-07-2007
      Location
      GER
      Posts
      4,449

      Default Protect Goner Ships

      Also I need help with a mission.

      I began to play the goner missions and after supplying some ressources and some TS ships to them, I now have to protect their ships from pirates.
      Even with a jumpdrive and a fast ship these missions are not winable. Until I reach the ship I have to protect, the battle is more or less over.

      The problem is that these missions start over and over again. Every few minutes this mission starts (and fails) new in a random sector (3 sectors very far east) and the mission never starts in a sector the player is in. Currently I have no bigger ships than M3 and the attackers come with various small ships and usually 2 M6.

      I would build up my empire more when this damn mission text wouldn“t apprear all the time. Any advice?


    2. #2
      Junior Super Moderator Xelonir's Avatar
      Credits
      1,881.88
      Points
      8,791
      is searching for time
       
      I am:
      Tired
       
      Total Contributions For

      Xelonir - {JSM}      £ 0.00
      Main InfoStatus and ThingsPoints and CreditsOther
      Join Date
      23-01-2008
      Location
      Germany
      Posts
      2,054

      Default

      It alternates between "defend ships" and "defend station" missions.

      For me at least the "defend station" missions were doable, and after a couple of them the over-all mission was successfull.


    3. #3
      Super Moderator kevso101's Avatar
      Credits
      2,478.16
      Points
      11,903
      is is happy TXU is back online
       
      I am:
      Happy
       
      Total Contributions For

      kevso101 - {SM}      £ 0.00
      Main InfoStatus and ThingsPoints and CreditsOther
      Join Date
      27-04-2007
      Location
      Just outside of madness : )
      Posts
      3,288
      Blog Entries
      1

      Default

      Hiya Guys,
      i'm not sure the defend the ships bit is doable just yet (i was looking at the script that creates this mission ). This is most likely one of the "balancing" issues that will be fixed in the up and coming 1.3 patch hopefuly.

      Kevso

      ..

      .


      "The way of the Modder: try something, hit your head on the keyboard once, try something else - rinse and repeat" Sartorie 2009
      "wisdom lies in th ghost of the Beverage" Sartorie 2010
      Stay safe in the X-Universe - Kevso101
      My Profile/PC Stats

    4. #4
      Administrator 2Blackhawk's Avatar
      Credits
      2,949.50
      Points
      16,023
      is absent
       
      I am:
      Tired
       
      Total Contributions For

      2Blackhawk Points for Thread Ratings Given      £ 0.00
      Main InfoStatus and ThingsPoints and CreditsOther
      Join Date
      11-07-2007
      Location
      GER
      Posts
      4,449

      Default

      I think I did a defend station mission already, but now there are only ships to defend. Defending a goner ranger is probably a bit easier as defending a freighter.


      Another problem is part of the terran plot.
      spoiler: Scanning the split TL for jumpdrive parts. How the heck do I get away safely after placing the spy drone?
      Placed already a fast ship nearby but I get destroyed so quickly that I have no chance to change the ships (though I haven“t tried a transporter)



    5. #5
      TXU Full Member bdroc's Avatar
      Credits
      361.98
      Points
      737
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      Total Contributions For

      bdroc      £ 0.00
      Main InfoStatus and ThingsPoints and CreditsOther
      Join Date
      20-01-2008
      Location
      The ROC, NY
      Posts
      105

      Default

      i ran into this problem too, but i always save in a new slot before taking a mission just in case its too hard...so i just reloaded my saved game to before i built the station spoiler: (due to a bug, you don't even have to build the station, you can just abort the mission and it will say you completed it)

      a trick you might wanna try is to leave some ships OOS in those sectors...when you have the money...and let them do the work for you

      a MAJOR problem with the mission script is that if you fail it...it doesnt just reset the mission...so all of the spawned ships that you were supposed to destroy will still be there...causing a massive fleet of pirates to appear if you fail to complete the mission over and over again

      _______

      AMD Phenom X4 9950 BE
      Nvidia GTX 260 896MB
      4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066MHz
      1.4TB HDD Space

    6. #6
      Administrator 2Blackhawk's Avatar
      Credits
      2,949.50
      Points
      16,023
      is absent
       
      I am:
      Tired
       
      Total Contributions For

      2Blackhawk Points for Thread Ratings Given      £ 0.00
      Main InfoStatus and ThingsPoints and CreditsOther
      Join Date
      11-07-2007
      Location
      GER
      Posts
      4,449

      Default

      I don“t have the ships already now that could deal with the pirates OOS. Saving is a good idea before accepting missions but in this case nobody could imagin that after building the station there some impossible "auto-starting" missions

      Regarding the terran plot I will try a jumpdrive also with the freighter, probably the better solution (as the transporter device) as it will save the captured freighter.


    7. #7
      Junior Super Moderator Xelonir's Avatar
      Credits
      1,881.88
      Points
      8,791
      is searching for time
       
      I am:
      Tired
       
      Total Contributions For

      Xelonir - {JSM}      £ 0.00
      Main InfoStatus and ThingsPoints and CreditsOther
      Join Date
      23-01-2008
      Location
      Germany
      Posts
      2,054

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by 2Blackhawk View Post
      Regarding the terran plot I will try a jumpdrive also with the freighter, probably the better solution (as the transporter device) as it will save the captured freighter.
      Yes, that's the solution I went for. Sent my M3 to a parking position near a gate, then when the attackers launch I jumped there with the TS and changed ships to deal with them.


    8. #8
      Administrator 2Blackhawk's Avatar
      Credits
      2,949.50
      Points
      16,023
      is absent
       
      I am:
      Tired
       
      Total Contributions For

      2Blackhawk Points for Thread Ratings Given      £ 0.00
      Main InfoStatus and ThingsPoints and CreditsOther
      Join Date
      11-07-2007
      Location
      GER
      Posts
      4,449

      Default

      Yes it worked, but you don“t have to destroy them.

      I also solved my goner mission problem by cheating, this was the only way as like Kevso said each time the mission fails the spawned enemies stay in the sector. So all three sectors were "red" - no chance to deal with them in a normal way. Also the next Goner mission where you spoiler: have to follow this ship is nearly impossible in my eyes (at least if you don“t have something bigger than a M6).


    9. #9
      Junior Super Moderator Xelonir's Avatar
      Credits
      1,881.88
      Points
      8,791
      is searching for time
       
      I am:
      Tired
       
      Total Contributions For

      Xelonir - {JSM}      £ 0.00
      Main InfoStatus and ThingsPoints and CreditsOther
      Join Date
      23-01-2008
      Location
      Germany
      Posts
      2,054

      Default

      Did you manage to spoiler: capture the Truelight Seeker without problems?
      Because I tried and tried again, spoiler: spent a LOT of Cr on training my marines, but just couldn't get it done.

      That was the point where I finally decided: OK, game broken - let's write some cheats.

      As for the mission where you spoiler: have to follow the ship through pirate sectors: I tried to clear the path beforehand in the Vidar I got from the Terran missions, but that didn't help much.

      Once I finished that mission, the next one is broken again, too.
      spoiler: You're supposed to dock on that Pirate station the ship from the mission before was heading to, but it's red - so you cannot dock.


    10. #10
      Administrator 2Blackhawk's Avatar
      Credits
      2,949.50
      Points
      16,023
      is absent
       
      I am:
      Tired
       
      Total Contributions For

      2Blackhawk Points for Thread Ratings Given      £ 0.00
      Main InfoStatus and ThingsPoints and CreditsOther
      Join Date
      11-07-2007
      Location
      GER
      Posts
      4,449

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by Xelonir View Post
      Did you manage to spoiler: capture the Truelight Seeker without problems?
      Because I tried and tried again, spoiler: spent a LOT of Cr on training my marines, but just couldn't get it done.

      That was the point where I finally decided: OK, game broken - let's write some cheats.
      To be honest I forgot what I did, but I didn“t have any marines. Maybe I cheated.

      Quote Originally Posted by Xelonir View Post
      As for the mission where you spoiler: have to follow the ship through pirate sectors: I tried to clear the path beforehand in the Vidar I got from the Terran missions, but that didn't help much.
      Remembered me a little bit to getting the Hyperion within XTM, with all the pirats wandering around in these sectors. As I said imho cann“t be done without cheating.

      Quote Originally Posted by Xelonir View Post
      Once I finished that mission, the next one is broken again, too.
      spoiler: You're supposed to dock on that Pirate station the ship from the mission before was heading to, but it's red - so you cannot dock.
      Thats strange as my mission text says I have to destroy the pirates base - not to dock there. Maybe you misunderstood the description?


    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •